Get to Know Author E.N. Joy

Jossel_headshot_2013_willowE.N. Joy, author of She’s No Angel

PEN’Ashe Magazine: How long have you been a published author?

E.N.Joy: After thirteen years of being a paralegal, I finally divorced my career and married my mistress and my passion; writing.   I self-published my first book back in 1998 and my second book a year or so later.  My third self-published book eventually got picked up by a major publisher.  What was so crazy about that was that the first publisher to ever send me a rejection letter was the same publisher who ultimately gave me my first book deal. Although my first published work was in 1998, I have been writing since the days of elementary school journals and rainy day writings.  I started out just writing poems, then short stories.  My first self-published book, Please Tell Me If the Grass Is Greener, was a mixture of poetry and short stories.  Well, actually it’s poetic short stories; short stories told in a rhythmic flow.  Kind of like a Dr. Seuss book for Grown-ups-LOL.

PM: What is your motivation behind the pen?

EJ: Any author who disagrees with me will have a short lived career. Our husband, wife, mother, brother, sister or mentor might have encouraged us along the way of our literary journey, but none of us would be where we are today without the motivation the readers provide by their continued support of our work. Readers are the boss of me!

Read the full article by downloading our latest issue! 

Leave a Reply

