Get to Know Author Keyanna Ford

image (4)Keyanna Ford, author of Living in Fear.

PEN’Ashe Magazine: How long have you been a published author?

Keyanna Ford: My debut Novel was published on July 29, 2014.

PM: What is your motivation behind your pen?

KF: My motivation behind writing was my life. I took a bad relationship that happened to me and wrote it in a book as a stress reliever.

PM: What is your writing process? I don’t write every day, I binge write. I will go weeks without writing then write for weeks without stopping. I also write at night, I usually start around 11 pm and write a chapter.

PM: Are you a full-time author? If not, what struggles keeps you from writing full-time?

KF: I’m a part time writer, this is my first novel and right now I’m trying to build my brand. I hope that I can become a full time writer at some point but I have work in order to live.

PM: Tell us how you came into the storyline of your latest book.

KF: The story line for Living in Fear came from my life. I was in an abusive relationship and decided to tell my story. This book isn’t based solely on my life, some things are embellished but some of the fight scenes are taking directly out of my life.  Writing was my outlet from what was going on and actually helped me get over him and be able to walk away.

Read the full article by downloading our latest issue!

Leave a Reply

