Get to Know Author LaQuita Cameron

IMG_20130720_214134LaQuita Cameron author of Let the Games Begin

PEN’Ashe Magazine: How long have you been a published author?

LaQuita Cameron: I have been a published author since February 2014.  I am proud to announce my new journey on joining a publishing company in May 2014.

PM: What is your motivation behind the pen?

LC: The motivation behind my pen is writing about real life issues and giving readers something that they can relate to. Readers are interested in situations that some people face on a day to day basis that no one tells about. My desire to inspire other upcoming writers as I have been inspired by African American writers before my time. I want to show the world that African American writers have a voice.

PM: Describe your writing process.

LC: My writing process is to first determine what type of genre I want to write. Since I am a multi-genre writer, I determine if I want to write a romance, thriller, or erotica. Once my genre is depicted, then I can start thinking about the type of characters I want in my novel (whether male/female).  I focus on the characters personalities to make sure they correlate to the storyline. Once the genre and characters are generated, I bring together a storyline and title to finalize its creation. I do not write outlines because I usually change up my plot and settings to make sure the story flows. I write in either first or third person depending on if the novel is based on the character’s lives or if it is based on a series of events with multiple character perspectives.

Read more of the article by downloading our latest issue!

Leave a Reply

