Author Q&A with Jennifer Ott

MeJennifer Ott, author of Searching Civilization available on Amazon.

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Pinterest

Youtube

 

PEN’Ashe Magazine: How long have you been a published author?

Jennifer Ott: 5 Years

PM: What is your motivation behind the pen?

JO: It’s an obsession. I have stories, which I am motivated to tell. I have characters speaking to me wanting me to tell their stories. I sometimes feel I don’t want to be a writer; I have to be a writer. It is what I am.

PM: Describe your writing process.

JO: I studied screenwriting. My first part of the process when the idea strikes is to outline the plot in screenplay format. Basically, I lay out the beginning, the inciting incident, first act, plot twist, climax and ending.  Once I have the story outlined, I just write. I just let it pour from me, and then for my following drafts I add and edit like a fiend until I feel confident the book is complete, or my characters tell me so.

PM: Are you a full-time Author? If not, what struggles keep you from doing your craft full-time?

JO: No. I am not a full time author. Like many struggling writers, it is money that keeps me from writing full time.

PM: Tell us how you came into the storyline of your latest book.

JO: Searching Civilization is the second book a new series called, “Citizens of Civilization.” The first book, “Edge of Civilization” told the tale of a displaced Vietnam Veteran who lives forty years in the desert outside Las Vegas and his journey home to civilization. I fell in love with the main character so much, I wanted to continue his story.

“Searching Civilization” tells the story of a young woman who lost the love of her life, this Vietnam veteran. The story tells of her determination to finding and reuniting with him, no matter what it takes. Her search becomes a life-long devotion – one that she never regrets. It is a love story that goes beyond romance. It is about the love of friends, and well, everyone she comes into contact, and most of all love for herself.

PM: What character(s) can you relate to the most?

JO: Andy, the main character. The book is about being young and losing the love of your life, which I can relate. I have to admit, I cried through writing most of the book.

PM: How do you market your work?

JO: All social medias for sure. I create my own book memes, as well as YouTube trailers.

I have and continue to do Blog book Tours. I found them to be the greatest help and gaining new readers and followers.

PM: What are you currently reading?

JO: Doris Dancy “Shattered Pieces.”

PM: What can we expect from you in 2015?

JO: I am continuing the “Citizens of Civilization” series. I am currently working on the next book, “Rays of Civilization”.

PM: What advice do you have for up and coming authors?

JO: Write, write, write, and read anything you can about writing.

Get featured on PEN’Ashe Magazine. Email us today about being featured! penashemagazine@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

