Author Q&A with A’ndrea J. Wilson

Author A Wilson Photo 3A’ndrea J. Wilson, author of Wife Next Door. Available on Amazon.

Author Website

Twitter

Facebook

YouTube Channel: AndreaWilsonOnline

Series Website

Blog

PEN’Ashe Magazine: How long have you been a published author?

A’ndrea Wilson: Six years in May of 2015

PM: What is your motivation behind the pen?

AW: At a large scale level, I aim to write books that have a positive impact on society. At the individual level, I hope to inspire readers to grow closer to God and become better equipped to build healthier relationships.

PM: Describe your writing process.

AW: I work best with deadlines, so I often create them to keep myself on track. Once I’ve decided to finish an idea/project, I usually write by the thousands, which means I write until I’ve reached a goal of 1,000 or more words before taking a brief or extended break. I’m a “write by the seat of my pants” writer, so I only lightly outline at most. The majority of my writing is organic, allowing the story to naturally flow. I often write my ending by the time I get midway through the story, and this helps me to have a clear understanding of how the story must progress to have a satisfying ending.

PM: Are you a full-time Author? If not, what struggles keep you from doing your craft full-time?

AW: Yes. In addition to being an author, I previously worked part-time as a college professor, but I am currently transitioning out of that role so that I can focus completely on writing and public speaking. It has taken me a while to get the courage to leave teaching because leaving comfort zones is always uncomfortable—that’s why it’s called a comfort zone!

PM: Tell us how you came into the storyline of your latest book.

AW: Wife Next Door is a novella in the Wife-to-Be Series. The series revolves around engaged couples, which is one of the relationship statuses not covered in my Wife 101 Series. I wanted to cover various issues engaged couples might deal with that could impact whether or not they actually marry. The idea of Wife Next Door came from considering whether or not opposite sex, best friends should date/marry and how illness can influence decisions. With Wife Next Door, the male protagonist has Sickle Cell Anemia. I felt this novella was a great opportunity to create awareness of this condition that is so prevalent amongst people of color.

PM: What character(s) can you relate to the most?

AW: I can relate to Morris, the male protagonist because he’s a good guy who has committed his life to bettering someone else’s life. In the midst of all of his hardships, he continues to have hope and be faithful, which is something we don’t always see in people today.

PM: How do you market your work?

AW: I try to take advantage of as many tools as possible from newsletters, social media, blogging, physical/virtual events, media outlets, etc. I’ve learned to evaluate the effectiveness of what I’m doing and to not repeat efforts that don’t work for me. There’s only so much that I can do alone and with a limited budget, so I’ve found it best to focus on endeavors proven to work for me.

PM: What are you currently reading?

AW: I read a lot of Christian fiction, so my next read will be No Sin in Paradise by Dijorn Moss. However, I’m an eclectic reader, so I just finished Hell House by Richard Matheson.

PM: What can we expect from you in 2015?

AW: Wife Next Door is the third novella in the Wife-to-Be Series. In 2015, I’ll be concluding the series (nine novellas total). I will also be publishing a couple of novels, including Spell 2, which is written under my pseudonym Janell.

PM: What advice do you have for up and coming authors?

AW: Do your homework and know your craft. Research the industry, take classes, read like crazy, especially in the genre you want to write in, read books on writing and publishing, hire a good editor, get proofreaders/beta readers, and be prepared to market your work. When it comes to marketing, don’t jump on bandwagons. Market in a way that works for you and your personality. Evaluate what you’re doing and if it’s not effective, try something else. Don’t just use a tactic because you see other authors doing that thing. What works for them might not work for you.

Want to get featured on PEN’Ashe Magazine? Send us an email at penashemagazine@gmail.com

One Comment Add yours

  1. dljordan4 says:

    A’ndrea,
    Very inspirational!! I truly enjoyed this feature! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

