Author Q&A with Michele Kimbrough

michele kimbrough 4Michele Kimbrough author of Dangerously in Love (romantic suspense), Available on Amazon 

www.MicheleKimbrough.com

www.twitter.com/Madambition

www.facebook.com/MicheleKimbroughWriter

 

PEN’Ashe Magazine: How long have you been a published author?

Michele Kimbrough: I published my first novel, Prudence, in 2013.

 

PM: Describe your writing process.

MK: I don’t really have a process. I usually am inspired by a character first, then I dream up her story. My first draft is usually a chronology of the story, then I go back through and rearrange things into the story I want it to become.

 

PM: Are you a full-time Author? If not, what struggles keep you from doing your craft full-time?

MK: At one point, I was a full-time author but sales dragged and slumped making it impossible for me to remain a full-time author. So… back to work for me!

 

PM: Tell us how you came into the storyline of your latest book.

MK: I was watching an old movie – one that I love, and I wondered what would have happened if the story took place today, with our technologies. And what if the ending didn’t end there but continued on, what would happen? Basically, I just kept saying “what if” until I had a completely different story under different circumstances.

 

Dangerously in Love 4 with authorPM: What character(s) can you relate to the most?

MK: I can relate to the protagonist, Hill, most. Most people got frustrated with him, but I understand what motivated the poor decisions that he made. I could actually relate to that.

 

PM: How do you market your work?

MK: Blogs, social media, email blasts, word of mouth, email services like Fussy Librarian and Choosy Bookworm.

 

PM: What are you currently reading?

MK: Casualty of Love by L. Logan Chandler.

 

PM: What can we expect from you in 2015?

MK: I’m finishing a kids chapter book called Najah’s Quest that’s targeted for 9-12 year olds.  After that, I’m working on another romantic suspense.

 

PM: What advice do you have for up and coming authors?

MK: Just do it. Write it. If you have a story to tell, get it on paper. If you just do it, it will be done.  I also have entire blog posts dedicated to aspiring authors. A popular one is: https://kimbroughwriter.wordpress.com/2014/10/07/five-things-i-had-to-let-go-of-when-i-became-a-writer/

About the Author: Michele Kimbrough lives in Chicago (but cheers for the Green Bay Packers).  She’s an Air Force veteran and formerly a nonprofit corporate executive.  She counts coffee and red wine as the best discoveries of all times, and describes herself as a work in progress. 

Michele writes stories because she loves peeling back the layers of messy truths that come with living life. Her characters are flawed and encounter challenges that either grow them or destroy them. Her passion is writing and she’s written freelance articles and contributed to various blogs.

Leave a Reply

