Author Q&A with D.A. Kelley

received_973721752667861D.A. Kelley’s latest release, “70×7: The Road to Forgiveness” Available now on Amazon, Barnes and Noble

http://www.onekarmapublishing.com/

Twitter @mzdakelley

Facebook Denise A. Kelley OR fan page Author D. A. Kelley

Instagram @msdkelley

Periscope @mzdakelley

Pinterest: Denise Kelley-Author

Google+-daknovelist@gmail.com

 

PEN’Ashe Magazine: How long have you been a published author?

D.A. Kelley: I’ve been a published author since approx. June 2014

 

PM: What is your motivation behind the pen?

DK: I am a Christian and my religious beliefs in God motivate me. I know I can do all things through Christ which gives me strength to do so.

 

PM: Describe your writing process.

DK: My writing process is simple… I just write. I have a full time job so I write whenever I can.

 

PM: Are you a full-time Author? If not, what struggles keep you from doing your craft full-time?

DK: I am not a full time author, yet . I would say finances is the reason why I’m not currently a full time author. I have financial responsibilities that doesn’t enable me to quit my full time job and become a full time author, yet. 

 

PM: Tell us how you came into the storyline of your latest book.

DK: The storyline of my latest book, as probably with a number of authors, came from a ‘real’ place. Of course, events and situations are embellished, but the storyline itself comes from a place of non-fiction. Bottom line, the storyline is my life. 

 

PM: What character(s) can you relate to the most?

DK: One of the main characters in my novel is a woman named Maxine Hunter. In a nutshell, Maxine is me, so I definitely relate to her.

 

PM: How do you market your work?

DK: I market my work through social media and ‘word of mouth’.

 

PM: What are you currently reading?

DK: Daily Chronological Bible  .. 2) The Shack by Wm. Paul Young

 

PM: What can we expect from you in 2015?

DK: I have a novella being released approx. December 2015 entitled Revenge: Sweet as Cain. I’m also a contributing author in an Anthology entitled: I Still have my Praise. My piece is titled, Scars from the Sanctuary. The Anthology is scheduled to be released before the end of 2015 as well.

 

PM: What advice do you have for up and coming authors?

DK: Advice I would give up and coming authors is to believe in your craft and perfect your craft. If God has given you the ability to ‘write, then write. Always trust in God and let him lead you on this journey.

 

About the Author: Denise Ann Kelley (Pen name D. A. Kelley) is a freelance writer, who has written a number of short stories, poems and Christian plays. Denise has a short story featured in The Motherhood Diaries 2, by National Bestseller, Mrs. ReShonda Tate Billingsley. Denise’s debut novel was released Oct. 2014 entitled 70:7: The Road to Forgiveness. Denise has been selected as a contributing author in an upcoming anthology entitled, I still have my Praise. Denise also has an article printed in a local magazine in her community called The Focus. Her article was printed in the January 2015 edition, which can also be viewed online through a magazine app called Issuu. Denise has been offered the opportunity to write articles for The Focus for upcoming months. She will have another article printed in this magazine for the month of February. Denise was also a contributing author in a Book of Love Devotional entitled: Greater Working Women Ministries.

Denise has appeared on numerous internet talk radio shows discussing her debut novel, as well as other inspirational topics. Denise received a four star review from Pen’Ashe literary magazine for her debut novel, 70:7: The Road to Forgiveness. PEN’Ashe magazine also accepted one of Denise’s short stories and published it in their May/June 2015 issue.

Denise has a novella that will be released approximately December 2015.

Denise is a lover of education and knowledge. She has several certificates, degrees, licenses, and diplomas. A Diploma in Business Technology and Office Administration, an AAS degree in Paralegal, a certificate in Pharmacy Technician, and she is also licensed as a Certified Medical Coder and licensed to sell Life, Health and Annuities in the state of Virginia. Denise is currently employed as a Quality Performance Auditor II for Blue Cross and Blue Shield. She has worked for Blue Cross and Blue Shield for over fifteen years and has received various promotions within the company.

Denise enjoys preparing documents. She has prepared more than a few resumes for individuals who were changing or embarking on new careers. Denise is also a great asset to her local church and her entire church organization, and performs various administrative duties. Denise’s genre is Urban Christian Fiction, which she brings to life in her writing whether it’s poetry, a novel or a play.

Denise has written numerous of Christian plays, throughout the years, that have been performed in various locations in her local community.

Denise currently resides in Roanoke, VA. She obtained a love for writing and reading at a young age and both are still her passions to this day.

Denise is a member of the National Writing Month writing club (www.nanowrimo.org). This club has aided Denise in completion of her debut novel.

You can contact Denise at Daknovelist@gmail.commailto:Mzdakelly@gmail.com, Denise.kelley@anthem.com or Facebook: Author D. A. Kelley

Leave a Reply

