Author Q&A with Ky’la Sims

CoverPhoto

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author of “Laws of Passion” Available now on Amazon!

http://www.amazon.com/Laws-Passion-Kyla-Sims-Author/dp/0996530614

Website: http://kmjbookreveals.blogspot.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorKMJ

Facebook-https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKMJones?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

Instagram: https://instagram.com/authorkmj/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8290811.K_M_J_

 

PEN’Ashe Magazine: How long have you been a published author?

Ky’la Sims: I have been a published author for about two years. I wrote my first children’s book, Duck’s First Day of School when I was 7 years old and when I turned 17 a year ago I decided to officially publish my work. Now I’m 18 years of age and I have published my second book which is a young adult novel called Laws of Passion.

 

PM: What is your motivation behind the pen?

KS: I have always had this passion for tricking people and taking them on journey’s with my stories. I understand that life gets hard and there are things we don’t want to face so I hope that through my writing I can make them feel an array of emotions that will leave them inspired and refreshed about life. I want for readers of my work to be happy!

 

PM: Describe your writing process.

KS: I really don’t have a writing process. Sometimes I’ll be falling asleep and an idea will come to me about a new novel or a scene for my current works and I will write them down as soon as I can so I won’t forget it. It’s as if the words just come to me when I least expect them to.

 

PM: Are you a full-time Author? If not, what struggles keep you from doing your craft full-time?

KS: Yes, I am a full time author. I do have other things that I do like running my own book blog KMJ Book Reveals where I read & review novels, write editorials, and post videos related to all things in pop culture including an emphasis on the publishing world. However, everything I do always requires me to do what I love which is write!

 

PM: Tell us how you came into the storyline of your latest book.

KS: I had a dream that compelled me out of bed. It was like I was getting a memory from a place I had no remembrance of and that’s how I began my novel. As I wrote this single dream down everything else just fell into place. It was as if I knew what to write without knowing which was kind of weird, but now that it’s happening more often it’s like my new normal.

 

PM: What character(s) can you relate to the most?

KS: I feel like I can relate to almost every character in my novel whether they are the main characters or the background characters due to the fact that everything in this novel came from me and my experiences with life.

 

PM: How do you market your work?

KS: I don’t really market my work. I’m just very blessed that I have such wonderful family, friends, team and community that are embracing my work on their own and that means so much to me.

 

PM: What are you currently reading?

KS: Currently I am reading Absolute Black by Lori J. Lawrence and it is getting so good right now! I will be posting my review for this novel on my blog KMJ Book Reveals on October 4th.

 

PM: What can we expect from you in 2015?

KS: In 2015, you can expect me to be wrapping up on sequels to both of my works Duck’s First Day of School & Laws of Passion. In addition, I am expanding my social media reach to YouTube where I will be debuting a new series doing recaps of novels I’ve read and giving book reviews and a whole lot more that you will have to wait and see.

 

PM: What advice do you have for up and coming authors?

KS: I want to tell them to never give up! Things may seem like they are not happening for you at the moment, but take this time to sharpen your skills and get better at your craft. The worst thing you could do is to jump into something before your ready. Also, there will be plenty of haters. Just shake it off and know that you are amazing and that your breakthrough is coming. Make sure you always stay in faith and keep your hope. I can’t wait to see what great work you do in the future.

About the Author: Ky’la Sims has always had a passion for writing. At the age of 7 years old, Sims wrote her first children’s book called, Duck’s First Day of School which she officially got published 2 years ago at the age of 16 under her pseudonym Author KMJ. Now at the age of 18, KMJ has continued her writing journey by publishing her first young adult novel, Laws of Passion which was released earlier this year. Currently, when KMJ isn’t creating more adventures to take her readers on she is inspiring others on her blog KMJ Book Reveals and posting daily book reviews and editorials in relation to pop culture concerning teens today. KMJ is always pushing others to reach their goals and offers help to authors in need through services on her blog KMJ Book Reveals.

Leave a Reply

